European forests

Conserving biodiversity through sustainable forestry management

260.000 jobs in Europe

Bringing social and economic added value to rural areas

Use more wood

Reduce CO2 emissions and tackle climate change

Building with wood

A natural, strong, durable and recyclable material

Key ways to maximize potential of forest bioenergy to decarbonize Europe underlined

16.01.2018

Key ways to maximize potential of forest bioenergy to decarbonize Europe underlined

European forestry and agricultural organisations urge MEPs to ensure that the role of forest bioenergy to decarbonize Europe is not hindered when they vote on an EU Commission proposal on the promotion of renewable energy sources (RES).

Forests and the forest-based sector play a significant role in tackling climate change by helping to decarbonize Europe to reach its post-2020 climate and energy targets, whilst also boosting growth and jobs in EU rural areas. Sustainably grown EU forests are an important piece in the puzzle of renewable energy. For example, advanced biofuels are one of the solutions to ensure a more climate-friendly transport sector. It is important that the EU Commission proposal on the promotion of renewable energy sources (RES) does not hinder this.

In particular, the 9 organisations collectively call for:

  • All types of wood biomass to be included in the RES Directive as a renewable raw material for biofuels, heat and power, depending on the market context and as deemed appropriate by operators across the forestry value chain, otherwise sustainable forest management and related investments might be undermined;
  • Cascade use of woody biomass should remain a voluntary principle. If embedded into EU legislation, it would hinder resource efficiency and innovation, creating excessive red tape and impacting negatively on the market;
  • Promotion of efficient use of resources and assurance that the use of waste and residues is not restricted in biofuel production;
  • Assurance that products like pulpwood and tall oil remain on the list in Annex IX of the proposal.

Their demands were set out this week in a joint letter to MEPs co-signed by 9 organisations - CEPF, Copa & Cogeca, EUSTAFOR, ELO, Ceettar, Ceja, EOS, UEF, USSE - representing European forest owners and managers, farmers and their cooperatives, the sawmill industry, forest workers, contractors and professionals.

For further information, please contact:

Confederation of European Forest Owners (CEPF)
Secretary General, Emma Berglund – emma.berglund@cepf-eu.org
Policy Advisor, Meri Siljama – meri.siljama@cepf-eu.org

European State Forest Association (EUSTAFOR)
Executive Director, Piotr Borkowski – piotr.borkowski@eustafor.eu
Policy Advisor, Salvatore Martire – salvatore.martire@eustafor.eu

European Farmers and European Agri-Cooperatives (Copa and Cogeca)
Director, Oana Neagu – Oana.Neagu@copa-cogeca.eu
Press Officer, Amanda Cheesley – Amanda.cheesley@copa-cogeca.eu

European Organisation of the Sawmill Industry (EOS)
Secretary General: Silvia Melegari – silvia.melegari@eos-oes.eu
Economic and Policy Advisor: Diego Benedetti – diego.benedetti@eos-oes.eu

European Council of Young Farmers (CEJA)
Secretary-General Alessia Musumarra – a.musumarra@ceja.eu

Union of Foresters of Southern Europe (USSE)
Managing Director of USSE, Leire Salaberria – Isalaberria@usse-eu.org

European Confederation of Agricultural, Rural and Forestry Contractors (CEETTAR)
Director, Eric Dresin – ceettar@ceettar.eu

Union of European Foresters (UEF)
President: Michael Diemer – michael.diemer@wald-rlp.de

European Landowners Association (ELO)
Senior Policy Officer: Ana Rocha – ana.rocha@elo.org

Download